Connie is one of the first faces you’ll see when you walk through the front doors of AFS. As part of AFS Plymouth’s administration team, she’s there to greet you, help you out with your account information, schedule meetings, make sure you get your dose of caffeine (coffee and tea station) and watch your kids while you’re getting in a great workout! As one of our childcare specialists, you can rest easy (or workout hard) knowing your kids are being taken care of by the best, caring staff around.

She also triples as Plymouth’s own client experience specialist: she checks in with new clients, manages our Tree of Change, writes cards for clients, and she’s always coming up with ideas to make sure that each and every client feels like AFS is a second home.

Connie recently earned her Bachelor’s of Science degree in Speech Language & Hearing Sciences at Northern Michigan. When she was in Elementary school, she was fascinated by the fact that someone could move their hands and have meaning to it; at that point, she realized sign language was powerful. She hopes to eventually get into Gallaudet University in Washington DC, which is a deaf university, in order to be completely immersed in the language and culture so that she can learn from native signers.

Why did you choose AFS?

I was looking for new employment because I was ending my job as a nanny and still wanted to be working with kids. I heard about this place from my friends Danny, Gino, Katie, and Cody and they always talked about how much fun they have at work and how good of an atmosphere it is to work in, so I wanted to get in on the action!

What you can be found doing when you’re not at AFS?

I really like to play outside, cook, take naps, and I have a specific infatuation with outdoor activities and bonfires in the summertime.

What’s your favorite place in the world to visit and why?

One of my favorite places to go back to visit is the horse camp that I used to go to for 11 years; it’s called Black River Farm and Ranch. When I go there, I feel like I’m home.